QuickBooks Online Accountant Features
As seen in the screenshot above, there’s an arrow in the action column, but the only option is to print the report—unless you’re an accountant with QuickBooks Online Accountant.
If you are using QuickBooks Online Accountant, there will be an “Undo” option.
Once you click on Undo, you’ll get a confirmation screen making sure that you really want to undo your reconciliation.
Intuit is making the undo feature only available to accountants with QuickBooks Online Accountant, as a lot were asking for it. I hear it’s not being given to regular users as it’s a potential source of headaches if someone accidentally undoes a reconciliation. In the existing/old version, there is an undo button that is also only available to QuickBooks Online Accountant users.
If you do undo a reconciliation, it will show in the Audit Log.
QuickBooks Online has built-in warnings to let people know not to mess with reconciled transactions.
However, you are still able to change a transaction. If this happens, you can see what was changed by going to the Reconciliation Discrepancy report. You can easily get this report because you’ll see a warning box with a link to it the next time you try to reconcile the account.
The report looks like this.
Overall, the reconciliation feels a lot cleaner and more up to date than the previous one. Changes are well documented and accessible in audit logs and reconciliation discrepancy reports. I like how you can change the views to only show the transactions you’re looking for. About the only additional feature I would like to see is a running balance when the “All” view is shown, as it would make it a bit easier to see exactly when the account went out of balance.